Don't forget to Share this

Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Champions league 2011 : Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to play Champions league 2011

In spite of failing to finish in the top three of the 2011 Indian Premier League, the Kolkata Knight Riders will have an opportunity to qualify for the Champions League T20 competition to be held later this year.
The CLT20 Governing Council confirmed on Monday the format and dates for the 2011 tournament to be played in India, with more teams than ever before having a chance to win domestic T20’s biggest prize.

The 10-team CLT20 will follow the same format as 2010 and will be held in Bengaluru, Chennai and Kolkata from 23 September to 9 October. Before the tournament kicks off however, a six-team event will be played in Hyderabad from 19-21 September to decide the final three teams that qualify for the main event.
With six sides in the qualifier and another seven already confirmed as participants in the tournament, a record 13 teams will have a chance to claim the most prestigious prize in domestic cricket.
Competing Teams
- Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL)
- Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies)
- Auckland Aces (New Zealand)
- Sri Lanka (Team tbc)
- England 1 (Team tbc)
- England 2 (Team tbc)
2011 Champions League Twenty20
- South Australian Redbacks (Australia)
- NSW Blues (Australia)
- Warriors (South Africa)
- Cape Cobras (South Africa)
- Chennai Super Kings (India)
- Royal Challengers Bangalore
- Mumbai Indians (India)